After the Mashable Awards

In all honesty I wasn’t exactly sure what to expect when I entered the Zumanity theatre in the New York, New York hotel, home to the 2011 Mashable Awards.  I knew there would be a red carpet, I knew there would be very important people packed into that theatre but the rest was a surprise.

As I made my way through the lobby of the theatre I took my time, pausing every so often to mingle with interesting people and grab a complimentary snack and beer.  Around my 2nd beer and 4th pretzel (they were so good) I met a fellow blogger by the name of Daniel Cawrey (Editor of thechromesource.com) and had a conversation that just reaffirmed my love of writing.

When the doors opened and the show began I was engulfed in a sea of social media and felt extremely at home.

The show began with an introductory speech from the very-much-not-what-I-expected CEO of Mashable Pete Cashmore and the very funny Baratunde Thurston, Director of Digital at ‘The Onion’.  The remainder of the awards show was a great example of the growing nature and importance of social media and was highlighted by a variety of VERY different personalities.

Everyone from ‘the bed intruder’ Antonio Dodson to the ‘Double Rainbow guy’ was in attendance and I even got pelted by (plush) Angry Birds!

In the end I owe Mashable a huge thank you for all they have done for my entertainment, knowledge base and the social media industry these last four years.  Thank you Mashable!

Until next time buyers, sellers and friends!

Sincerely,

Josh ^theLVD Weaver

About Josh Weaver

Joshua Weaver was born and raised in Plymouth, Michigan and attended Western Michigan University. He received his Bachelors of Arts, majoring in Public Relations with a minor in Political Science, in May of 2010. After working as a public speaker and advisor he then accepting a consulting position at Pricefalls.com, a Dutch Auction website based out of Las Vegas, NV. Upon completing two months of consulting he was offered a job as Director of Public Relations and accepted. He now spends the majority of his time researching trends and executing social media tactics to draw traffic to the site.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

