The Luckiest Guy in VEGAS

Lucky has never been a word synonymous with Josh Weaver, until today.

When I got to my computer this morning I followed my usual routine and pulled up Mashable and Twitter and, as they say around the office, plugged in.  I always take a few minutes to read the Mashable most recent and top stories before I get my day started, as it has effectively become my social media CNN.

The word MashPack caught my eye and I right clicked on the link opening it in a new tab with five other posts to read.  I read the article “Win Today’s Holiday MashPack with 14 Tech and Social Media Prizes” and to be completely honest I rolled my eyes.  The post called for readers to ‘tweet’ a message about the contest using the hashtag #MashPack with a winner being selected at 12 EST.  My eyes rolled because with an Alexa rating of 93 (remember out of 18 million websites in the US) there were bound to be A LOT of #MashPack tweets.

Just out of curiosity after submitting my tweet I checked out the #MashPack tag and saw a few hundred tweets just on the first page.  The volume immediately diminished any thoughts I had of winning and I began my day.

About two hours later, while I was sending a fax my iPhone buzzed and informed me I had a twitter message.  “That’s weird”, I thought, “I don’t usually get many directly sent messages from Twitter, must be spam.”  I dismissed the phone in my pocket and continued sending my fax.  A few moments later, my phone buzzed again reminding me that I had ignored a message as only my phone would.  I opened the Twitter app, clicked on the message and my heart stopped.

Or at least I thought it did.  I had a direct message from Pete Cashmore, CEO of Mashable.  I opened it and read: “Hi Josh.  Congrats!  You’re today’s #mashpack winner.  Please email us for details. Thx!”

I almost dropped my phone. I had won the #MashPack?  The Mashable.com Holiday #MashPack? And Pete Cashmore just sent me a message?  To be fair I understand it was most likely an automated response, but I was STOKED!  I have honestly never won something like this in my life!

I ran to my computer, ignoring my mid-transaction fax and pulled up Twitter and Mashable and confirmed it: “Check out the list of prizes below to see what’s in the MashPack, and find details on how to win. Today’s MashPack went to Josh Weaver from Las Vegas, NV. (Congratulations, Josh!) For those who didn’t win yesterday, go ahead and try your luck today!”

I yelled. Loudly, scaring my co-workers and most likely pissing off those on the phone.  I had just won a HD camera, various iPhone accessories, a laptop case, VERY nice headphones, a Ben Folds album, and a few other prizes.  I was momentarily not in control of my happiness; thank goodness for being potty trained.

I read over the direct message from Pete Cashmore multiple more time and proceeded to giggle for a good 20 minutes in my seat and shift between the moods of insane happiness and disbelief (I also ended up printing out the message from Mr. Cashmore and now have it on my office wall of awesome).

So I now urge you, to go to Mashable.com and enter to win a #MashPack, tomorrow’s could very well be yours!

Thank you again everyone at Mashable.com!  I will be sending you pictures of me using all of my prizes very soon!

Until next time buyers, sellers and friends!

Sincerely,

Josh ^theLVD Weaver

 

About Josh Weaver

Joshua Weaver was born and raised in Plymouth, Michigan and attended Western Michigan University. He received his Bachelors of Arts, majoring in Public Relations with a minor in Political Science, in May of 2010. After working as a public speaker and advisor he then accepting a consulting position at Pricefalls.com, a Dutch Auction website based out of Las Vegas, NV. Upon completing two months of consulting he was offered a job as Director of Public Relations and accepted. He now spends the majority of his time researching trends and executing social media tactics to draw traffic to the site.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Luckiest Guy in VEGAS

  1. Kayde says:

    Congratulations Josh, and I think luck and fate has been with you more than you realize! That is really awesome that you won this package though, I know it was something you needed for a little pick-me-up right now. I really hope that more luck keeps coming your way, I know you have worked very hard for everything you have, you deserve a few freebies!

Leave a Reply

