SUCCESS!

I’ve been the Director of Public Relations at Pricefalls for about a month now and I must admit with each passing day I love my job more and more.  I’ll admit it is MUCH more difficult than I ever imagined but the payoff is worth it a thousand times over.

A large portion of my every day task list is making media calls in order to gain coverage of the Pricefalls site, format and innovative auction style, but this is much more difficult than it sounds.  Battling natural disasters, CEO scandals and Justin Bieber for media coverage has become a daily routine and while I am getting better at it with each passing day the learning curve is incredible.

I have noticed however, as a new contact reminded me today, the squeaky wheel always gets the grease.

After my third call to a news organization in the Washington DC area I was connected to a woman named Meymo who I was told would be very interested in the story.  It turns out she loved the ideals behind Pricefalls.com and the current project we were working on in the area called the artWorks Program, a collaboration with Washington DC based homeless shelters where art created at workshops held at the shelters would be sold on Pricefalls with all proceeds going to charity.

After a long conversation with her regarding the program and a number of follow-up calls she told me to “get the poop” a phrase I had not heard before.  She explained it was her PG way of telling me to get the ‘stuff’ needed for the story such as: contact with the founders, a child at the program, and a homelessness advocate.  After searching and a few more days on and off the phone I got the poop and called her back.

She was thrilled and set a date for the interviews and story release and informed me that, “Oh yea, it will also be featured on NPR as well”.

It didn’t quite hit me until after I had hung up the phone, but I thought for a second and then actually yelled very loud and excitedly.  NPR!  Now THAT is a breakthrough!   While I may not be on All Things Considered it is still a huge news network and was actually named one the most trusted outlets for news in the US.

The moral here is while you may be in an unfamiliar situation never give up.  Keep trying and learning and adapting and you will come out ahead.  As Beverly Sills once said, “You may be disappointed if you fail, but you are doomed if you don’t try.”

Until next time buyers, sellers and friends!

Sincerely,

Josh %theDirector Weaver

About Josh Weaver

Joshua Weaver was born and raised in Plymouth, Michigan and attended Western Michigan University. He received his Bachelors of Arts, majoring in Public Relations with a minor in Political Science, in May of 2010. After working as a public speaker and advisor he then accepting a consulting position at Pricefalls.com, a Dutch Auction website based out of Las Vegas, NV. Upon completing two months of consulting he was offered a job as Director of Public Relations and accepted. He now spends the majority of his time researching trends and executing social media tactics to draw traffic to the site.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to SUCCESS!

  1. Tiffany says:

    Fantastic!! So great to hear that the company had a break through with your lead!! Keep up the great work!

  2. Kayde says:

    This shows that hard work and persistency pays off. Even if you have tried before don’t always think that the second, third, or even fourth outcome will be the same. It is wonderful to hear that you are helping get Pricefalls.com out there, I never doubted you, the company has many more surprises in store I am sure. They were very lucky to get you while they could!

    • Josh Weaver says:

      Haha thank you Kayde! I am glad I got to Pricefalls when I did too! It is an amazing experience but very very difficult learning on your own. I am trying to think outside the box as much as possible to bring more surprises each day! 🙂

Leave a Reply

