“Money is the barometer of a society’s virtue.” – Ayn Rand

“Don’t tell me where your priorities are. Show me where you spend your money and I’ll tell you what they are.”  – James W. Frick

As I sat down to write today’s post these two quotes ran through my head, each from various times I’ve flipped through thinkexist.com but applicable nonetheless.

I don’t want you (the reader) to get bored with the Cyber Monday topic but this latest piece of information is amazing enough to warrant another post on the subject.  This past Monday, the 29th, the online spending amount on a single day broke the one billion mark for the first time in history.

One billion dollars.  In one day.  All online…Wow.

The one billion dollar mark has been reached before but in a week’s period, never a single 24-hour session.  This figure flabbergasted me to the point of not believing it was true.  That’s until a number of people I follow on twitter began to post this video.

This brings me back to the James Frick quote,  “Show me where you spend your money and I’ll tell you what [your priorities] they are.”

Apparently the answer to this question is online.  Now this number is far off what was spent Black Friday weekend in the brick-and-mortar stores but the trend of online shopping from 2009 to 2010 increased an amazing 16%.   With this percentage increasing steadily in the past 6 years I feel the trend of online shopping will continue to grow rapidly and could possibly threaten traditional shopping one day.

I would love to hear your thoughts on the increase of online shopping!  Do you think it could one day replace going to a store?

Until next time buyers sellers and friends!

Sincerely

Josh #theDirector Weaver

Ps. Check out my Cyber Monday purchase 😉 30 Cigars for $15.  That is hard to beat!

About pricefallsllc

Elliot Moskow is the CEO of Pricefalls.com. He launched Pricefalls in his Junior year of college. About Pricefalls.com Pricefalls is an online reverse auction site that serves as a complete online marketplace for consumers and merchants. Pricefalls is unique through its use of a ‘Dutch Auction' or descending pricing model. Using this model, items up for auction on the site start at a predetermined price ceiling and drop throughout the bidding period. This helps consumers get the best deals, while also enabling merchants to get more for each item they sell through Pricefalls. For more information please visit www.Pricefalls.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

