Cyber Monday

I sincerely apologize about the lack of blog posts last week, however my excuse is sound as I was stuffing my face with turkey and sleeping on the couch as I assume a majority of my readers were doing as well.

As I woke from a turkey-tryptophan induced slumber Friday morning I turned on my iPhone and began to read the morning news.  As I pressed my BBC World News App I was simultaneously buzzed informing me I received a message.  I guiltily pressed ignore as I was very interesting in the article about the bribed World Cup officials and continued reading.  My phone again vibrated but was this time followed by five more vibrates in quick secession and in a row.  Concerned that someone had either gotten hurt or I missed an important event I quickly pressed the home button and opened my messages.

I wish there had been someone in the vicinity with a camera because I am sure the transition from concerned to annoyed on my face would have been interesting as I still cannot replicate the result.  There sitting in my inbox were six messages about Black Friday from various stores stemming from my most recent purchase of the TGIBlackFriday App, a side effect I was not aware of.  As I sat there concerned how long this would go on, four more messages reached my phone and I quickly deleted the app in hopes the messages would stop.

They did but the damage had been done.  Black Friday had started.

The remainder of the day was not as horrible as I imagined it would be.  Traffic was decent and the lines at the stores I visited weren’t as bad as the hype made it out to be.  However, as I turned the radio on driving from one store to the next, tuning to my favorite hometown talk show, the topic was Black Friday Horror stories.  They included multiple accidents, housewives with handbags filled with bricks and catfighting in the check-out lanes.  I was visibly concerned.  Why had I not run into these scenarios.  Had I found the hidden land of casual shoppers?  I pressed my luck and continued shopping but ran into no storms of evil shoppers and returned unscathed.

This morning was a different story.

When I began this morning I had not yet run into the Cyber Monday rush nor had any idea of what form it would appear in.  As I opened the first bookmarked page I had made the evening before in hopes the Cyber Monday deal would be affordable I ran into an issue.  In big yellow letter across the image read: SOLD OUT!  Only partially deterred I opened up my second saved page.  SOLD OUT again was in red letters this time and my concern mounted.  As I opened the third, fourth and fifth simultaneously I told myself, all of these can’t be sold out, but I was wrong. SOLD OUT! SOLD OUT! SOLD OUT!  Each was bolded in various colors and with varying number of punctuation.

I was beat.  Cyber Monday had come.

While this may seem like an unhappy ending it is not.  As the disappointment of a few of my items being out of stock left my mind it was replaced with a feeling of intrigue, interest and hope!  Cyber Monday is a newer addition to the shopping weekend that follows Thanksgiving and is now something I am very interested in learning more about. Such as: How are these companies leveraging their online stores to drive significant traffic?

As a side note, I was also very surprised to find out how many stores had significantly raised prices of select big ticket items a month or two before Black Friday/Cyber Monday in order to make their prices look that much better on those shopping holidays. So as a warning, as you are shopping this holiday season, do your research it will pay off in the end.

Until next time buyers, sellers and friends!

Sincerely,

Josh ^theDirector Weaver

 

About Josh Weaver

Joshua Weaver was born and raised in Plymouth, Michigan and attended Western Michigan University. He received his Bachelors of Arts, majoring in Public Relations with a minor in Political Science, in May of 2010. After working as a public speaker and advisor he then accepting a consulting position at Pricefalls.com, a Dutch Auction website based out of Las Vegas, NV. Upon completing two months of consulting he was offered a job as Director of Public Relations and accepted. He now spends the majority of his time researching trends and executing social media tactics to draw traffic to the site.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

