The business of business cards

“Look at that subtle off white coloring, the tasteful thickness of it, oh my god…it even has a watermark.” – Patrick Bateman

When I accepted the position as Director of Public Relations at Pricefalls, I was very excited about two things.  The first being finally having a solid and consistent paycheck and the second being a chance to design my own business cards!

As I graduated college one of the first things I did was create a business card to use for interviews and networking purposes.  It was a very well thought out business card that was technology heavy (leaned on my online resume on LinkedIn) and email and I was very pleased with the outcome (especially because I only had to pay for shipping).

However, there is something a little tacky about having a business card manufactures’ logo on the back of your card and I needed an upgrade.

Through my incessant reading of mashable and google blogs I ended up getting very into QR codes and coding.  These new age bar codes that have been mainstream in other countries for a few years are just beginning to appear on American soil.

These funky squares of dots and spaces are scannable by any smart phone with a barcode reader (such as red scanner or barcode savvy) and once scanned will jump you to the webpage/item it is linked too.

When I learned I would be able to design my own business card the idea to apply this technology to a face-to-face interaction just seemed to appear in my mind.  I can only imagine this is due to all of the blogs/journals I had been reading and I needed to make it happen.

This is the Mark 1 prototype for my new card and it is already showing great potential, as it is a great conversation starter ranging from those who either recognize the code to those confused.

What do you think?  Would you put a QR code on your card? What do you think should be on a business card?

Until next time buyers, sellers and friends!

Sincerely,

Josh ^theDirector Weaver

Ps. The card’s color is bone. 😉

About Josh Weaver

Joshua Weaver was born and raised in Plymouth, Michigan and attended Western Michigan University. He received his Bachelors of Arts, majoring in Public Relations with a minor in Political Science, in May of 2010. After working as a public speaker and advisor he then accepting a consulting position at Pricefalls.com, a Dutch Auction website based out of Las Vegas, NV. Upon completing two months of consulting he was offered a job as Director of Public Relations and accepted. He now spends the majority of his time researching trends and executing social media tactics to draw traffic to the site.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

