Facebook, Iron Man and the thought of Legacy

I must admit a strange mix of Facebook, Mashable, and Iron Man 2 has influenced this post.

While I was downing my daily dose of Mashable this morning I came across a very interesting video titled “A Life on Facebook”.  In the wake of “The Social Network” and “Catfish”, both films dedicated to the creation and use of the social media platform, I was curious (and honestly semi-annoyed) about the possibility/thought of a 3rd Facebook movie.

(Watch Here)

I was pleasantly (and thankfully) surprised with a very well put together short film about how we live and document our lives since the creation of Facebook.  As the short concluded a word seemed to pop into my mind as if to summarize the video.

Legacy.

This is where Iron Man comes in.  I knew this word materialized due to the constant viewing of the sequel since I bought it on Sunday but it seemed to embody the feeling of the film and it’s message.  As funny as this sentence may seem, both “Iron Man 2” and “A Life on Facebook” speak volumes to the thought that the most important part of our lives is our legacy.

Whether subconscious or not every person reflects on how their legacy will be viewed once they are not around.  This can be as simple as making a decision on clothing to as in depth as marriage and kids.  Every decision and action made reflects on our person and how others view and will remember you.

With Facebook, every single action broadcast to friends is recorded on your feed and remains there years later.  After watching the video, as a personal exercise to see how much and if I have grown, I reread my feed from a year ago.  I was surprised as to what I broadcast to the world and the responses I received after comparing them to current friendships/relationships.

While I could sift through the entirety of my online history deleting anything that brought back bad memories, etc, I decided to leave all of it and revisit my introduction to an online presence in a few years.  See what I think then.

What do you think about this new form or oral history?  How have you changed since you started using Facebook?

Until next time buyers, sellers and friends!

Sincerely,

Josh %theDirector Weaver

About Josh Weaver

Joshua Weaver was born and raised in Plymouth, Michigan and attended Western Michigan University. He received his Bachelors of Arts, majoring in Public Relations with a minor in Political Science, in May of 2010. After working as a public speaker and advisor he then accepting a consulting position at Pricefalls.com, a Dutch Auction website based out of Las Vegas, NV. Upon completing two months of consulting he was offered a job as Director of Public Relations and accepted. He now spends the majority of his time researching trends and executing social media tactics to draw traffic to the site.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Facebook, Iron Man and the thought of Legacy

  1. Thnks says:

    Very insightful

  2. Mkw003 says:

    Yuck! I do NOT want my legacy to be an electronic foot print. I hope my legacy is the lives I’ve created and the people I’ve impacted!

  3. Fara says:

    Is a very well written post….. Thanks so much for information. ….Sorry for my English

Leave a Reply

