Google Air? Not yet, but one day…

Thank you Google!  I honestly cannot imagine how many times I have said, yelled, or thought this phrase.  Whether because the search engine has provided me with the answer to a trivia question that would have other words driven me insane, or because of a new app, such as Google goggles, that has made the world around me a more interesting place; Google is no doubt the number one used site in the world for a reason.

However, as a frequent flier of long distances, I have yet another reason to say ‘Thank you Google!”  Starting November 20th 2010, Google will be sponsoring FREE in-flight Wi-Fi for the holiday season.

A very small part of me will always be wary of the intentions of a company of Google’s enormity, but if this is just a PR stunt on the behalf of Google and the participating airlines, I have to say it may even work on me.

Quick side note: being a PR-minded person doesn’t automatically mean I am immune to PR stunts or find them annoying, it just means I like to evaluate and translate them to Pricefalls terms.

When asked about the sponsored flights, the VP of Product Management, Sundar Pichai wrote on the official Google blog, “We’re big fans of innovations [in this case Google Chrome] that make out lives on the web and in the browser better -and it all starts with more ubiquitous access to the Internet”.

According to mashable.com’s Adam Ostrow, “The offer follows last year’s holiday gift to travelers from Google –free W-Fi at dozens of airports across the country. With more and more airlines starting to offer in-flight Wi-Fi, it seems the timing was right to take the promotion to the skies.”

Currently the free Google sponsored Wi-FI is only available to travelers on Virgin America, AirTran and Delta, making me also wonder if this partnership will actually boost ticket sales to avoid the $12.95 fee for use.

I will be up in the air again soon, making my way back to Las Vegas, so I will ask passengers around me and see what they think.  Stay tuned for those responses!

Until next time buyers, sellers and friends!

Sincerely,

Josh ^theDirector^ Weaver

About pricefallsllc

Elliot Moskow is the CEO of Pricefalls.com. He launched Pricefalls in his Junior year of college. About Pricefalls.com Pricefalls is an online reverse auction site that serves as a complete online marketplace for consumers and merchants. Pricefalls is unique through its use of a ‘Dutch Auction' or descending pricing model. Using this model, items up for auction on the site start at a predetermined price ceiling and drop throughout the bidding period. This helps consumers get the best deals, while also enabling merchants to get more for each item they sell through Pricefalls. For more information please visit www.Pricefalls.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Google Air? Not yet, but one day…

  1. Mkw003 says:

    Whether this is a stunt or not, good job google! I would absolutely book my travel based on free wifi!

Leave a Reply

