Coworking

As I reach the middle of my second day working remotely I find myself missing the work atmosphere of the Pricefalls headquarters.  The surrounding city, apartment, etc. are nice additions but the synergy that exists in that room is the most motivating.  I had never been in a coworking environment before working at Pricefalls.com.

Coworking, in regards to space arrangements, refers to an open environment filled with a variety of different employees from different branches of the company.  Think of coworking as a company with an open floor plan.  No offices, no walls, but a large room with desks, computers and other individuals working on task lists.

Pricefalls is set up similarly.  While I don’t have a placard with my name sitting on my desk, I return to the same desk every morning and sit with the same individuals from the creative dept, customer service and business development branches.

However, there are positive and negative aspects to this sort of environment.

Positives include: the ability to get a second opinion.  I love having the ability to turn to another member of the team and ask their opinion on a sentence or project idea.  Adding onto that thought, surrounding yourself with a variety of people also allows you to acquire skills that are outside of your immediate field.  For example, photoshop and excel are two of my biggest enemies, but I can be sure, because of who I’ve surround myself with, that if I have an important question someone in my vicinity will have the answer.

Another positive aspect to coworking is the added professionalism and comfort that are involved.  This may seem contradictory but its true.  When I come into work every day I act as if I am being judged by prospective clients or the big bosses (usually because I am as the CEO and CIO walk around the office occasionally).  However, the ability to flag someone down or have a conversation with a co-worker without the burden of getting up or shouting over cubicle walls leads to a comfortable environment.

There are negatives to this style of work as well.  One being, because of the lack of walls privacy is at a minimum and private conversations must be held online or in a conference room.  Also good headphones are a must in an open floor environment such as ours.  Loud conversationalists or an over-zealous account manager will yell at the exact moment of a great idea, effectively erasing it from your mind.  Headphones and white noise can prevent this.

In the end, I can’t imagine working in a cubicle or in a situation where I didn’t see people’s faces all day.  The more public, open environment is a tool just waiting to be used.  You would be surprised to find out just how helpful those around you can be and how a fresh set of eyes is always the solution.

Until next time buyers, sellers and friends!

Sincerely,

Josh theDirector Weaver

About pricefallsllc

Elliot Moskow is the CEO of Pricefalls.com. He launched Pricefalls in his Junior year of college. About Pricefalls.com Pricefalls is an online reverse auction site that serves as a complete online marketplace for consumers and merchants. Pricefalls is unique through its use of a ‘Dutch Auction' or descending pricing model. Using this model, items up for auction on the site start at a predetermined price ceiling and drop throughout the bidding period. This helps consumers get the best deals, while also enabling merchants to get more for each item they sell through Pricefalls. For more information please visit www.Pricefalls.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

