One Month in Vegas

This weekend was filled with all sorts of interesting. As 5-o’clock Friday rolled around the Pricefalls office and I got back to the apartment I walked onto the balcony and the weirdest thing happened, it began to rain. The rain itself wasn’t what impressed me but the way in which the clouds seem to roll over the mountains in an evil way that reminded me of a scene from the movie Independence Day. Having come from Michigan, weather is not something that has ever fazed me. It was not until I arrived in Nevada and noticed the lack of any type of weather, besides 90+ with blue skies, that I realized how much I missed it and depended on it to break up my days. When every day is clear blue skies and heat you tend to lose track of time in a big way and the constant blue can make you even more tired. Around when I had this realization my roommate Chad walked onto the balcony and commented on the weather, “Wow, I haven’t seen a cloud, let alone rain since I’ve been out here”. Chad has been out here for close to a year and a half. Someone out there is looking out for my sanity.

After watching the weather progress into a downpour followed by a dust storm that looked dangerously similar to a tornado and ending in a very close cloud-to-cloud lightning storm, my roommates and I called it an early night due to the lack of sleep and intensity of the week with vows of a Vegas night out on Saturday. They did not disappoint. After taking a few hours to get ready and have a few beers to cut down on bar expenses, the night began with a ride in a BENTLY to Luxor where we began the night at a club called the Cathouse. Once we entered the club, having bypassed the line due to a call ahead from the CEO, it was as though I had walked into a scene from every Las Vegas Movie I had ever seen. The club was filled with the rich, famous, and immaculately dressed. Drinks ranged from $7 (the cheapest bottled beer) to $45 (top shelf anything) making me instantly grateful for drinking beforehand and the bathroom was stocked with, at the very least, 30 different types of cologne to freshen up with (mine included) and complimentary cigars and cigarettes. The night ran by in a haze of excitement and meeting new people left and right, with the occasional recognized celebrity, and ended in a limo ride to McDonalds before heading to the apartment to dream of the day to come where I can rub elbows with those people on a daily basis.

The next morning I woke up with a nice headache; but the ‘rode in a Bently, didn’t wait in any lines, met awesome people, woke up to mountains’ kind so I was alright with it. Once I was fully awake and eating breakfast one of my roommates walked out of his bedroom in the same state I was with a picture in his hand. I had forgotten there was a photo booth at the Cathouse and Chad and I decided to participate for posterity’s sake. That endeavor resulted in the following picture, which Chad makes a Jack Nicholson face and I my best impression of classy. All in all, the weekend was a blast. From fearing for my life in the face of a weather phenomenon in Nevada to rubbing elbows with people with more money than I’ve ever seen in person, both Pricefalls and Las Vegas are to thank for an awesome one month anniversary with this job. I can only say I hope there are years to follow.

Photobooth at the Cathouse

Until next time buyers, sellers and friends!

Sincerely,

Josh %the intern% Weaver

About Josh Weaver

Joshua Weaver was born and raised in Plymouth, Michigan and attended Western Michigan University. He received his Bachelors of Arts, majoring in Public Relations with a minor in Political Science, in May of 2010. After working as a public speaker and advisor he then accepting a consulting position at Pricefalls.com, a Dutch Auction website based out of Las Vegas, NV. Upon completing two months of consulting he was offered a job as Director of Public Relations and accepted. He now spends the majority of his time researching trends and executing social media tactics to draw traffic to the site.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

