S-Curve

During my lunch break today at the http://www.pricefalls.com headquarters I decided to make a shift in my daily routine.  Instead of watching a movie I brought from home or tv show on Hulu I pulled up Ted.com, a Youtube equivalent for intellectual conversation. I’ve had this link bookmarked for a while but never had any time to peruse the site. However, an intellectual conversation with a friend the night before had reminded me how much I love and miss learning and school. As crazy as this may seem to some, I miss the lectures the most. Whether I was giving a lecture to the Film Interpretation class I was a Teacher’s Assistant for or listening to one in my Gender Communication class, it was always during the lecture where my brain would travel a thousand miles a minute processing everything the professor said and turning those thoughts into personal theories.

I had this same experience watching Nicholas Christakis, a physician and sociologist known for his work researching social networks (in the anthropological sense), speak about how researching the roots of face-to-face social networks can predict epidemics. My brain synapses began to fire at a rate I could barely keep up with and I had to pause the lecture to reflect on my thoughts before I overloaded my brain after an already very stressful morning. Christakis started the lecture by breaking down how the adoption curve has evolved over time using social media (in this case person to person contact/friendships) as a means to turn it from a bell curve to an S-curve. I was already in a mental seizure of ideas and rewound the lecture to listen to the beginning again. As the image I provided in this post shows, over time the prevalence of anything from a thought to a disease will rise due to connections made. While Christakis was focusing specifically on face-to-face social connections in relations to spreading an epidemic, the same theory is compatible to social media sites spreading knowledge of a website or service such as Pricefalls.com.

Through my use of blogging, tweeting, media outreach and personal connections I am trying, and succeeding to a degree, to produce a saturation effect of the http://www.pricefalls.com site and its services. Christakis also spoke about how different diseases or thoughts are diffused differently through different networks and connections, another point directly related to my job and a point I made in yesterday’s blog.

“More companies are discovering that an über-connected workplace is not just about implementing a new set of tools — it is also about embracing a cultural shift to create an open environment where employees are encouraged to share, innovate and collaborate virtually.” – Karie Willyerd & Jeanne C. Meister, HarvardBusiness.org

Pricefalls.com is one of these companies.

Until next time buyers, sellers and friends!

Sincerely,

Josh the @LasVegasIntern Weaver

About Josh Weaver

Joshua Weaver was born and raised in Plymouth, Michigan and attended Western Michigan University. He received his Bachelors of Arts, majoring in Public Relations with a minor in Political Science, in May of 2010. After working as a public speaker and advisor he then accepting a consulting position at Pricefalls.com, a Dutch Auction website based out of Las Vegas, NV. Upon completing two months of consulting he was offered a job as Director of Public Relations and accepted. He now spends the majority of his time researching trends and executing social media tactics to draw traffic to the site.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to S-Curve

  1. dsmcgrg says:

    Your view on the how social media compares to face-to-face encounters is quite insightful. I would continue on the path of intellectual stimulus as a primary form of passing time as it is much more productive and will allow for greater personal growth as opposed to doing the opposite.
    I think that pricefalls has a great business model and I’m going to make a point to add it to my current list of online stores.

Leave a Reply

