1st Time I Got TwittFaced

As I promised yesterday, the first time I got TwittFaced was in Kalamazoo, MI while sitting at my desk right after getting the email informing me of my new position at www.Pricefalls.com.  The moment I got off the phone with Pricefalls, I was so excited that I began to celebrate in the classic college manner…..by logging onto Facebook to update my status.  I ended up getting drinks with my co-workers later that night but to recap getting TwittFaced has nothing to do with alcohol and a computer.  Getting TwittFaced can be likened to a sudden consciousness of the profound significance of social media outlets like but not limited to Twitter and Facebook.

My a-ha moment happened purely by chance as I was watching TV after a long day of advising and speaking to the incoming freshmen of Western Michigan University, my alma mater.  I became confused having just seen a commercial for ladies razors during a showing of Con Air and thought to myself, “You think they would at least try to personalize the ads for the audience”. (Not stating that women don’t like Nicholas Cage or Steve Buschemi or even escaped-prisoners-who-take-control-of-a-transport-plane movies but the opposing color schemes in the two were so jarring it threw me off).  As the last word processed through my brain it was as though it had flipped on a light switch on its way out which resulted in an idea. Social media sites can be used exactly in this way.  Each outlet should be dissected and the messages adapted and created for those who populate each site. I grabbed paper and began to write out all of the social media outlets I could think of off the top of my head such as: Reddit, Digg, Facebook, StumbleUpon, Twitter, Technorati, deviantART, delicious, Tumblr, and MySpace.  Underneath all of these sites I began to list who traffics each and the pattern was evident; each website has its own niche of registered users to an extent and with personalized approaches each could be utilized to expand the knowledge of www.Pricefalls.com.

I refined my idea over time leading up to my integration to the Pricefalls.com team and following the orientation began to explain my theory to the marketing director who was in complete agreement.  Since then we have done what we can to expand our knowledge of each social media tool whether it has meant signing up for a personal account in our spare time or browsing http://www.mashable .com and other social media sites for reviews and articles.

Here’s where it comes back to you again!  We are always looking for more tools to use to expand our social media footprint, so if you have any ideas to avenues we should explore or that you think are worth researching please let me know!  We are always expanding and reader feedback is always useful!

Until next time buyers, sellers, and friends!

Sincerely,

Josh (the @LasVegasIntern) Weaver

About Josh Weaver

Joshua Weaver was born and raised in Plymouth, Michigan and attended Western Michigan University. He received his Bachelors of Arts, majoring in Public Relations with a minor in Political Science, in May of 2010. After working as a public speaker and advisor he then accepting a consulting position at Pricefalls.com, a Dutch Auction website based out of Las Vegas, NV. Upon completing two months of consulting he was offered a job as Director of Public Relations and accepted. He now spends the majority of his time researching trends and executing social media tactics to draw traffic to the site.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

