Social Commerce

I can’t remember the last time that I walked into an actual brick-and-mortar store.  While I am in Las Vegas surrounded by the biggest and the most glorious store locations in the country, I have thus far only been in the grocery store for food and the Wal-Mart for toiletries.  I could even outsource my grocery shopping to the front desk via email if I was that interested in never leaving my apartment but I feel I would go crazy.  However, for those who don’t share the same love for the outside world and sunlight as I do, social media influenced commerce is the answer to their prayers.

What I will refer to as social commerce for the remainder of the blog is defined as the using of social media tools and social electronic interactions to assist in the buying and selling of items and services online on a marketplace much like www.Pricefalls.com.  Social commerce acts as a “fusion of two big digital trends of ‘social media’ and ‘e-commerce’” (socialcommercetoday.com) and acts to expand the marketplace of products outside the store directly to the consumer.  This fusion is not a new trend but the comfort level associated with how we purchase items and providing websites with personal information has gone way down and led to an increase in traffic to these sites.

Another result of this influx in social commerce can be seen in the decrease in physical store fronts as they are replaced with online retail locations.  This phenomenon is not drastic enough to make realtors nervous, but it’s enough to be noticed.  Provenblue is a great example of this transition (as can be seen here http://bit.ly/ajeIVW).  Provenblue is a completely online retailer of refurbished and pre-owned cell phones with just a warehouse for physical storage.  Provenblue is able to communicate though social medias, marketplaces, and other electronic communication in order to drive traffic to the site where orders may be made from all over the world, something possibly obtainable by a physical storefront, but not by one without an online presence.

However, without a smart and planned social media campaign, the online presence has no chance of gaining traction and will effectively go nowhere.  Hence the million dollar question has evolved.  How can I, Joe Blow Inc., drive the appropriate traffic to my site using the mighty weapon of social media?

Here’s where we will begin discussion.  What do you think is the most important social media tool to utilize?  Is it better to be spread out over a number of social media outlets or should focus be directed to one specific channel?  I would love to hear all of your responses and tomorrow I will clue you in on some of our ideas.

Until next time buyers, sellers and friends!

Sincerely,

Josh @LasVegasIntern Weaver

About Josh Weaver

Joshua Weaver was born and raised in Plymouth, Michigan and attended Western Michigan University. He received his Bachelors of Arts, majoring in Public Relations with a minor in Political Science, in May of 2010. After working as a public speaker and advisor he then accepting a consulting position at Pricefalls.com, a Dutch Auction website based out of Las Vegas, NV. Upon completing two months of consulting he was offered a job as Director of Public Relations and accepted. He now spends the majority of his time researching trends and executing social media tactics to draw traffic to the site.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Social Commerce

  1. MKW3 says:

    I believe it is best practice to use a number of social media tools in order to reach a diverse audience. If I’m a mother of three from the midwest, I probably have a specific pattern of shopping behaviors that is vastly different from say and young adult just out of college. Therefore, if I want to get attention to my product, I will have to diversify how I advertise. For instance, I can’t just run ads during a Southpark episode if I want those women raising families to see my product! I might have to run an ad during Grey’s Anatomy.

  2. MKW3 – I love your examples and I completely agree that unless you cover all your bases you could possibly lose out on a key public. I do have a follow up question to whoever would like to respond. Is it more important to have breadth (spread out) or depth (specific) type of advertising?

    • mkw003 says:

      Okay, so here are my thoughts on the question of breadth versus depth . . . as a new company it seems that it would make sense to have breadth while establishing a business model in order to create a global presence. It would seem that the goal would be to create a “household name” which means you have to reach every generation.

      • I completely agree mkw003. As a fairly new website with a innovative business model, our best bet, and current marketing mission, is to make Pricefalls a household name much like other auction based sites. Once that is on its way to becoming a reality then depth will be the tool to cement that status.

Leave a Reply

