Job at Hand

The moment I read the email which offered me the position at Pricefalls.com, I began to think about projects I may be involved in when I landed in Nevada. Somewhere in my brain flashed the idea for the Las Vegas Intern brand (in this context meaning persona I could develop in correlation to http://www.Pricefalls.com) but it was gone as quickly as it had come, replaced with the excitement of telling everyone I got a job in Las Vegas. I proceeded to write about my expectations and wants from this possibility in my personal blog at the time, but ended up deleting the blog as at the time I didn’t feel it was professional enough (look what I am doing now!). I brushed up on my LinkedIn page, as I told you in a previous post, deleted my ‘nickname’ from my Facebook, subscribed to the Mashable RSS Feed, expanded my connections network and began to try to write more often in my Twitter account. Little did I know that my preparation would directly impact my future Task List.

The first day of our orientation at Pricefalls, the other intern and I took some time to compare notes on schooling, sports played, clubs we were in and the like. As I recalled earlier, after I found out he was an Economics major with a sense of social media illiteracy and I was a Communications major with a total lack of economics sense, we knew our tasks would be assigned accordingly. I WAS semi comfortable with my knowledge of the social media realm, until the realization of my starting position sunk in. The marketing director has single handedly built the base work of the public relations department, an extremely impressive feat. When we sat down to begin a conversation on my tasks it focused on, among other things, the building of a stable brand and communication style.

Pricefalls.com fits very comfortably into the auction website niche but is up against very difficult competitors. The struggle I now face is finding that avenue of marketing that is either not being used by those competitors or make sure our voice sounds different than the more established auction sites. I spend a very large portion of my day, both inside and out work hours, researching social media trends and channels we can use to increase our internet footprint and presence. While baby steps have been made in the right direction, the foundation has been the majority of the focus until now. The bricks and mortar are in place, the inside of the business is continually being furnished with products and now, along with the rest of the marketing team, it’s time to get the biggest and best sign/ad out to bring those people in.

Until next time buyers, sellers, and friends!

Sincerely,

Josh #the Intern# Weaver

About Josh Weaver

Joshua Weaver was born and raised in Plymouth, Michigan and attended Western Michigan University. He received his Bachelors of Arts, majoring in Public Relations with a minor in Political Science, in May of 2010. After working as a public speaker and advisor he then accepting a consulting position at Pricefalls.com, a Dutch Auction website based out of Las Vegas, NV. Upon completing two months of consulting he was offered a job as Director of Public Relations and accepted. He now spends the majority of his time researching trends and executing social media tactics to draw traffic to the site.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Job at Hand

  1. BC says:

    I don’t doubt that you will do a fantastic job in helping build the company. You have wonderful ideas and know what people look for and want. Good luck intern.

Leave a Reply

