Age and Relativity

It came into my head as I was rereading my post from last night and began to think about the older gentleman I was sitting next with who had to excuse himself with his wife because it was getting to late. I really enjoy working with a young company built up by young entrepreneurs. In no way am I bad mouthing those older than myself; I feel they very often have a sense of depth to accompany the breadth of their knowledge that can only be attained over experience. In my opinion, working in a company of younger individuals with a board of older individuals fits into the perfect balance of freshness and wisdom. Pricefalls.com fits this balance perfectly, with a core group of individuals whose average age is 24 and a board with a very diverse selection of businessmen and women within the field.

I may have been spoiled by this as I have only had the experience of working with younger individuals (all of you in the Arts & Science Advising office are far from older) but the effects and reasoning is as follows, with each example relating to my time here at Pricefalls.com. First, I work with a group of individuals who roughly have the same amount of life experience, making nights out or around the house an enjoyable experience. Second, something that is very prevalent at Pricefalls is the want to learn more. Pricefalls embodies this in regards to the constant flow of technology advancement, new marketing tips, new business approaches and just flat-out cutting edge workplace strategies. Third, because everyone at Pricefalls.com is roughly the same age, everyone speaks the same language. I am not referring to the culturally significant sense but language as it relates to experience and trends. For example, while conversing on an instant messaging system throughout the office, there is no need for any type of user lingo dictionary because everyone is living at the same level.

Fourth, in regards to living with my coworkers, we all have very close to the same living needs. There is an understanding in the morning that bathroom time shouldn’t take longer than 15-20 minutes at most in order to facilitate the assembly line. Fifth, and in my opinion one of the most important, is that we all have the same amount of boundless, energy and enthusiasm for our respective tasks and our consumers as a whole. I have never had an experience with a customer service representative as I have heard Ryan handle his. Ryan, as the customer support director, has a passion towards others businesses listed on the site and issues with the website that is unmatchable and invigorating being able to witness it from the inside.

I have come to realize from a very personal standpoint that age is indeed relative. I have heard from the older crowd more than once that the younger generation is not as motivated or apt to pushing themselves forward, at http://www.Pricefalls.com that is very inaccurate. I work with some very motivated individuals out here and it constantly pushes me to work harder.

Wish me luck readers, I have my two-week performance review in an hour and I’m getting nervous!

Until next time buyers, sellers and friends!

Sincerely,

Josh =the Intern= Weaver

About Josh Weaver

Joshua Weaver was born and raised in Plymouth, Michigan and attended Western Michigan University. He received his Bachelors of Arts, majoring in Public Relations with a minor in Political Science, in May of 2010. After working as a public speaker and advisor he then accepting a consulting position at Pricefalls.com, a Dutch Auction website based out of Las Vegas, NV. Upon completing two months of consulting he was offered a job as Director of Public Relations and accepted. He now spends the majority of his time researching trends and executing social media tactics to draw traffic to the site.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

