Reflecting

It is currently 7:20pm in Las Vegas, Nevada.  I am sitting in my room while writing, hoping to catch the lights of the city turn on all at once as the sun begins to go down behind the mountains.  It has been an unusually quiet day in the apartment, and for good reason, some of my roommates/co-workers are still sleeping.  I’m aware of this behavior though as it is a sight/experience that has happened around me before, be it from total mental exhaustion or the due to distilled spirits or the hoppy goodness exhaustion.  In our case it the former, total and utter mental exhaustion.  Even those who are awake say precious little as they seem to float on by me (perhaps a result of my own exhaustion).  It is a well deserved feeling though, as ethereal as it may seem, as the core team (which whom I live with) are the brain and beating heart of Pricefalls.com.

I can attest to the amazement on a different level then most, having just graduated from college and witnessing this same exhaustion personally.  While I have been jokingly referred to as an “intern with the Energizer bunny up his ass” I to have begun to feel the weight of my job and what it means with in the company.  Unlike most internships that I have experienced, at Pricefalls.com, interns are very much a member of the core team, due to the very stringent and difficult interviewing process.  Everyone from the CEO to my marketing director, to my technical support director, to my customer service director have the same expectations of me, once training has been completed (was completed the first week) that I am able to fulfill all of my duties on the task list in a proper and efficient manner.  Not unlike any other paid employee, except I am not paid, yet, although that possibility may be present one day.

As I sit here and ponder the weight of my position, the importance of my tasks, the co-workers around me, and the company’s mission, I realize that I am indeed becoming apart of this family, slowly but surely and whether I like it or not.  However, I am strongly leaning towards the like.  It’s now time to begin dinner and the process of queuing 5 grown men through the shower/get ready process because it is the other intern’s birthday. We were told as hard as we work, we were guaranteed to party just as hard.  I just looked up and realized that I missed the flipping on of the proverbial switch, but I did just catch the turning on of the spot light belonging to the cat house in sight, a small victory.  I am really beginning to love my job here and I can’t wait to see what tonight/tomorrow brings.

Until next time buyers, sellers, and friends!

Sincerely,

Josh #the Intern# Weaver

About Josh Weaver

Joshua Weaver was born and raised in Plymouth, Michigan and attended Western Michigan University. He received his Bachelors of Arts, majoring in Public Relations with a minor in Political Science, in May of 2010. After working as a public speaker and advisor he then accepting a consulting position at Pricefalls.com, a Dutch Auction website based out of Las Vegas, NV. Upon completing two months of consulting he was offered a job as Director of Public Relations and accepted. He now spends the majority of his time researching trends and executing social media tactics to draw traffic to the site.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Reflecting

  1. Tiffany says:

    I never thought I would be so intrigued by these blog posts. I look forward to sitting down at home and reading the intern’s blogs every night of the week 🙂 Keep them coming.

  2. Kayde says:

    The way these are written is awesome. Especially in the beginning of this one Josh puts me into the story so I can picture looking out the window and seeing all of the lights turning on. I check everyday to see if his most current post is up and all of my roommates and family members have also started to follow. I have started looking for items on Pricefalls as well. He shows us day by day the struggles of not only himself but other members of the team and allows us to relate. This shows me and others who follow, the inside life that we wonder about a lot of the time. It makes all of the members easy (or more easy) to relate too and will rope in buyers as well as sellers when the members who run the company are personable and easy to relate to. I, along with many others are looking forward to many more posts!

Leave a Reply

