Expectations

When I arrived in Las Vegas, I have to admit, I was unsure what my role would be on the Pricefalls team. As the job title described it was a consulting/intern position and I would need to be well versed in excel (my mortal enemy) and social media, a term that had, to me, grown to be more expansive then a proper definition could accurately cover. Having a strong base in the latter was what ended up driving me towards the position. In a moment of complete sincerity, I had mentally prepared to become a gopher for the higher ups (go-fer this, go-fer that, etc.) as my overactive imagination told me there was a chance that I would be treated with the respect of a doormat. As these last days have proved, however, I couldn’t have been more wrong.

As my first week began, the other intern and I had very similar task lists, conversions, cold calling, and blog outreach. Slowly over the week, our strengths came out, I assisted Andy (the other intern) with tweets, explaining how they work and how to write them, as he helped me figure out detours to pitfalls I have with excel. Our big boss, the CEO, began to notice this more and more and pulled us aside to announce that he would begin to customize our task lists accordingly. As promised, the next day, my task list had twitter postings(http://twitter.com/pricefalls) & (http://twitter.com/LasVegasIntern), brand creation (which I will talk about in tomorrow’s post), social media outreach  and blogging. Whereas Andy (an economist graduate from Bates College) was tasked with inventory management, cold calling, and business model review, very obviously playing off of our strengths and limiting our time spent on weaknesses.

As my role here continues to change and evolve, I can’t help but feeling as if I have hit the proverbial jackpot of internships, being able to control my own destiny to a point. I have spoken to Chad, the marketing director, at length, about possible branding strategies, commercial ideas, advertising options and press release outreach, and I have a stronger feeling that the success and failure is even more at my fingertips as I define who I will be while I am here.

With that said I have to ask: Would anyone like to see Video Blog posts? (Videos posted to this site and youtube as well as my daily written blog) I would love feedback on this! Comment away! Tell me what you want to hear, give me questions to answer and ideas of things to do while in Las Vegas!

Until next time buyers, sellers, and friends!

Sincerely,

Josh ~The Intern~ Weaver

About Josh Weaver

Joshua Weaver was born and raised in Plymouth, Michigan and attended Western Michigan University. He received his Bachelors of Arts, majoring in Public Relations with a minor in Political Science, in May of 2010. After working as a public speaker and advisor he then accepting a consulting position at Pricefalls.com, a Dutch Auction website based out of Las Vegas, NV. Upon completing two months of consulting he was offered a job as Director of Public Relations and accepted. He now spends the majority of his time researching trends and executing social media tactics to draw traffic to the site.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

