The Dutch Auction

I must admit when I first heard the term Dutch auction I giggled like a 4 year old due to the pricing model sounding very close to a flatulence based stunt you pull on a girlfriend when you’re feeling mean. However, when all the giggles were out, the more I learned about the pricing model the more impressed I became as it has every quality needed to solve qualms both buyers and sellers have on larger auction sites. The Dutch auction’s history has an extensive one dating back to the Dutch tulip traders who traded the flower that was at one time as valuable as gold. What makes this auction format revolutionary is the way in which the price literally falls (hence pricefalls.com) until it reaches the top bidders price, thus insuring the maximum profit from whoever wants the item the most.

That being said, this form of auction is prevalent in our daily life and I was treated to a first-hand example at the very first tradeshow I went to this week. As I arrived at the IWJG or International Watch and Jewelers Guild tradeshow I was immediately shown the intensity of the event as the membership fees were explained to me. $10,000 to get in the door without a membership, memberships ranging from $10,000 to $50,000 dependent on the time in which you wanted to enter the trade room floor, the earlier the more expensive. I was slightly uncomfortable for the first time in a few years (the last time being woken up after surgery and being told I was telling the nurse how hot she was as she was wheeling me to the operating room, under anesthesia of course) and I needed to step back and take a serious, non-time wasting approach to my pitch as the vendor next to me counted stacks and STACKS of $100 bills.

I was at the trade show with my fellow intern Andrew, the CEO of the company, Elliot, and a former intern now full time employee, Jake. Jake was a very skilled speaker at these events and for a while I shadowed him, taking notes and trying not to look like I was uncomfortable. It then happened right in front of me. A buyer was looking at a watch priced at $16,000 and asked to see it. The vendor took it out handed it to him and proceeded to tell him about the watch. The Buyer looked up and responded, “I am beginning to like the watch but the price is a tad high for my liking.” The vendor in an attempt to make a sale responded, “I can drop the price to $15,000 for you.” “See that is still somewhat high compared to what he (pointing to a table) offered.” The vendor following his gesture immediately responded, “Well $13,000 is the lowest I can go.” The buyer thought for a moment, consulted his notes and responded yes.

There it was, the Dutch auction model happening in real life without those in the transaction even being aware. It was then when I realized just how easy this pricing model would be able to sell. All I needed to do was relate my pitch to real life. I currently have 4 client possibilities and rising and my pitch is drastically learning and changing daily.

Until next time buyers, sellers, and friends,
Josh ‘the intern’ Weaver

About Josh Weaver

Joshua Weaver was born and raised in Plymouth, Michigan and attended Western Michigan University. He received his Bachelors of Arts, majoring in Public Relations with a minor in Political Science, in May of 2010. After working as a public speaker and advisor he then accepting a consulting position at Pricefalls.com, a Dutch Auction website based out of Las Vegas, NV. Upon completing two months of consulting he was offered a job as Director of Public Relations and accepted. He now spends the majority of his time researching trends and executing social media tactics to draw traffic to the site.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Dutch Auction

  1. Kayde says:

    This post was awesome. Josh has explained the whole “dutch auction” style of sales to me but until he used that actual somewhat “bargaining” example I was still somewhat fuzzy on the idea (and I have read a lot trying to get a good idea). It was really awesome to imagine how he felt and even think about myself reacting in the same situation. It gives awesome examples of what Pricefalls does as well as a wonderfully clear example of how it works. After the first post I actually started checking out the website seeing what was available…again I was surprised at what all Pricefalls has to offer. I look forward to reading more. Please keep updating with this detail. I love seeing whats going on and the experiences Josh is getting.

  2. Tiffany says:

    I love reading this blog. I have learned so much and had never heard of pricefalls until now. Can’t wait to see what Josh is up to next!!

Leave a Reply

