The Beginning

When the pilot announced that we were about 20 minutes away from McCarran International Airport I was in disbelief. I couldn’t see anything out my window, granted it was around 10pm, but not even a light off in the distance. What the cover of darkness hid from me was the vast mountain range that seems to fence Las Vegas and all of its glory off from the rest of the world. As we flew over the taller peaks, I thought I caught a glimpse of a bright light which was only magnified the moment my window cleared the last mountain and like a black velvet cloak being pulled away from a light bulb the cabin instantly was washed in a yellowish glow of a billion little lights.

As the plane touched down and taxied to the terminal, the very nice couple sitting next to me asked again what I was here for and I replied, “I came to Las Vegas for an Internship at Pricefalls.com an online marketplace based upon the Dutch Auction format” launching into what would later become the basis of my pitch, he then interrupted and said, “I got that, but I mean why are you in Las Vegas? You could have gotten an internship anywhere, why here?” I was quiet for a minute because I didn’t truly have a satisfactory answer on the tip of my tongue, but as I thought I replied, “Why not? This city intrigues me.” He turns to me, the Vegas veteran he was and said, “Son, keep your money locked up and your momma on your mind.” I laughed a little but he gave a stern look and said, “Seriously, you don’t wanna get stuck out here if you don’t want to be.”

The combination of his un-humored stare and warning have attached themselves to my psyche as I contemplate on the next few months and remember why I’m here, to work. I need to find that balance of fun and productivity with an emphasis on their relationship fast, as to not become to stuck on the former.

Until next time buyers, seller and friends,

Sincerely,

Josh “the intern” Weaver

About Josh Weaver

Joshua Weaver was born and raised in Plymouth, Michigan and attended Western Michigan University. He received his Bachelors of Arts, majoring in Public Relations with a minor in Political Science, in May of 2010. After working as a public speaker and advisor he then accepting a consulting position at Pricefalls.com, a Dutch Auction website based out of Las Vegas, NV. Upon completing two months of consulting he was offered a job as Director of Public Relations and accepted. He now spends the majority of his time researching trends and executing social media tactics to draw traffic to the site.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

