Intro to Me

As the song goes, I’m “just a city boy, born and raised in south Detroit” who took that midnight train to Las Vegas. I grew up and was schooled in Michigan, going to elementary school in the suburbs (Our Lady of Good Counsel), high school downtown Detroit (University of Detroit Jesuit) and college on the west side of the state (Western Michigan University) and while I have loved the time spent in Michigan I felt it was time for an adventure, not to mention a job, and expanded my horizons elsewhere.

After pain-staking week after week of not connecting with a job opportunity that matched my level of schooling, I decided to take a step back to look at internships on the college job search site. I was led to an internship offer from Pricefalls.com. After a few days of considering the position (benefits, work to be done, not to mention distance) I decided to go with fate and send in a resume, after all they were located on Dean Martin Dr, a life-time idol of mine.

The next 2 weeks happened faster than I expected as I was emailed a letter of interest, set up a telephone interview time, and then offered the position! I must admit I was somewhat surprised, having stumbled a few times during the interview, but my mother reminded me how much of my own critic I am and that I most likely did great (mothers are the best). I proceeded to reflect on accepting the offer. While you most likely know the conclusion of that reflecting period, I decided to take the position, make the move, and start a position as an intern/consultant in a state in which I knew no one.

That leaves us where I am currently; staying in the Panorama Towers downtown Las Vegas, with a few members of the Pricefalls core team learning more and more of the platform every day and eagerly awaiting my next project and being able to speak up and offer my thoughts on a fully functional and game changing website.

The purpose of this blog is two fold: to 1) update you on lessons learned in the office and on what Pricefalls.com is up to and 2) the plot behind the story of living, working and staying focused in the most distracting city in the world.  So, I implore you to come to this blog on a regular basis and check on me, send me comments and words of advice and visit Pricefalls.com!

Until next time buyers, sellers and friends!
~Sincerely,
Josh ‘the intern’ Weaver

About Josh Weaver

Joshua Weaver was born and raised in Plymouth, Michigan and attended Western Michigan University. He received his Bachelors of Arts, majoring in Public Relations with a minor in Political Science, in May of 2010. After working as a public speaker and advisor he then accepting a consulting position at Pricefalls.com, a Dutch Auction website based out of Las Vegas, NV. Upon completing two months of consulting he was offered a job as Director of Public Relations and accepted. He now spends the majority of his time researching trends and executing social media tactics to draw traffic to the site.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Intro to Me

  1. Kayde says:

    I think this is an awesome idea being able to “get-to-know” the interns and people working for a company. Now a days everything is so corporate and nothing is personable anymore. Not only does this provide a base to get to know interns and people involved within a company, it will allow people to get to know the company itself and how it is run. I think you should continue to share your experiences at this company but also what you experience when you are there outside of the company and with the other members of the team. People really like getting to know who they do business with and I think this is a perfect way to link the customers and prospect businesses to get to know the members and company on a personal and trusting level. Josh showed me this blog and personally I am interested in learning more about his experience with Pricefalls and about the company itself, from a person I am able to communicate with rather than reading the Wikipedia version of things. I have already told friends about Pricefalls and I am sure they will be interested in keeping up with the interns and other contributers experiences and insights. Again, awesome idea and I will be looking forward to more postings!

  2. MikeM says:

    As a recent grad of WMU myself, I took the leap and moved to Los Angeles. After preparing myself with internships and a great deal of resume work and prep (even my own website) I started the application process. The job market is unwelcoming to new grads, especially in today’s market. Then I found an ad for a job in LA as a recruiter and decided to apply. I heard back and got the process started, going through several phone interviews before the offer letter came and moved out literally the day after I finished class. I was directed to the blog by Josh and I think its a great idea because I’m in the same boat; far away from home and completely new to a market that I’ve never been in. I’ve already checked out PriceFalls and told a few people about it and I’ll be sure to spread the word as time goes on. After all I went to school for PR. I’ll look forward to hearing updates and I’ll follow the company as it grows. Great Idea!

  3. MKW3 says:

    Nice Journey reference! Any blog that starts with a quote from my favorite 80s band is okay in my book. The sentimentality directed at mom is another clincher! This is a great blog that will keep me coming back.

  4. K says:

    A corporate-affiliated blog, unless it’s from someone high-up with the ability to freely mention their own feelings without worry of breach of contract or confidentiality, is nothing more than a walled garden of PR.

    The negative feelings exacerbate further when there is comment filtering or moderation, because it turns from a social discourse to a moderated discussion.

    The only way these blogs end up being “useful” from lower-ranking employees is if they’re a) doing the blogging under the guise of a pseudonym b) have specific managerial approval to disclose personal opinions (good and bad) and occasional secret goings-ons in the company or c) the employee doesn’t value their own job or the potential for a lawsuit when something comes up that can be struck as libel or a violation of their confidentiality agreement.

    I think it’s important to differentiate “LiveJournal” from “blog”, in the sense that one glorifies personal experiences while the other hinges on enlightening people seeking certain niche information. The two definitions overlap more than they should.

  5. Thkns says:

    @ K (and anyone else wishing to join in)-

    Again, thnks for the detailed and insightful post. I do agree with your comment on the need to differentiate the terms “blog”, “forum”, “Journal”, in order to give a reader some idea about what they should expect from continuing to read on. However, I must kindly disagree on your thoughts with regards to two subjects you have touched on in your reply too this post.

    My first counterpoint deals with your analysis of corporate-affiliated blogs. Although in many cases I wander around the web and come across corporate “blogs”, written by lower level employees/consultants, that in reality contain nothing more than promotional fluff that proves useless and annoying. However, in some cases (and these are few and far between, and in my opinion it’s much too early to tell for this blog in particular), companies present unique blogs or forums that are both entertaining, and informational. For instance, I’m a start-up guy. I wander around the web looking for discussions about start-up companies with innovative ideas, specifically with regards to their public perception (in order to gain insights into the firms viability from a user acceptance perspective). In this case, I think that although it’s clear that the company (Pricefalls.com) is trying to get eyes on their platform, another objective is to give the public an idea about how Pricefalls conducts business and how they treat their employees; in turn, undoubtedly speaking to the way in which Pricefalls treats its customers. I will however, acknowledge your position on the necessity for upper level management to accept both expression of good AND bad experiences, as well as the distribution of some “privileged” information to keep readers coming back. You are correct, a clear bias due to pressure from “higher-ups” can certainly ruin a blogs integrity.

    My second counterpoint is in regards to your view that, “negative feelings exacerbate further when there is comment filtering or moderation, because it turns from a social discourse to a moderated discussion”. In my opinion there are two sides to this coin. I agree on one side; elimination of constructive, well though out negative comments, opinions, or thoughts on corporate blogs can be counterproductive for individuals trying to acquire real, reliable knowledge about a company. However ( keep in mind that even though this is counter argument, this point is directly in line with your comment on another post in this blog titled “Social Media – The Definition”, where you note on the idea that the signal-noise ratio is too high in social media), in many cases, when blogs or forums are not moderated, they get overloaded with useless information, uncalled for profanity, and worst of all, spam. Therefore, I believe that moderation (in moderation) is important and can add value when practiced in an unbiased fashion, in order to place emphasis insightful additions to the discussion.

    Looking forward to see where this “blog” or whatever you want to call it ends up.

    Thnks again Josh “The intern”

    • K says:

      @Thkns

      I appreciate the comments.

      To respond to your first counterpoint, I can agree that this is an important resource for PriceFalls. My point wasn’t that the blog isn’t fulfilling the need of a more personal consumer-facing touch point. It was that there’s little proof whether this blog is fluffy PR or legitimate (uncensored) commentary on the company/industry. Blogs lose value by only focusing on positive, feel-good posts and analyses. The best blogs are the ones that ruffle feathers and are self-criticizing while still showing how they’re achieving the bigger picture.

      Plus, let’s face it, you learn so much more from failures than successes. Only talking about successes and good times limits the value of the blog.

      The changing face of PR (especially in the scope of social media) means that the department must be just as willing to admit errors, missteps, and failures as they are to shout their victories if they want to be taken seriously in a medium that invites direct commentary.

      To your second point, moderation is best served after the time of posting; not before it. It’s too easy to squelch voices that way, which is counter to what a transparent company blog should be striving for. There are services existing (such as Akismet) that can be plugged in directly to blogs and have a spam algorithm that detects if a post is from a known spam source or an individual. Moderation beyond that should be limited to deleting comments with personal attacks or “troll”-ish qualities.

Leave a Reply

